Winter Storm Observations from West Central Georgia Feb. 9-10 2011

Cross posting from a couple weather related message boards

Nothing .. nada .. zilch .. zero .. thats how much snow accumulated here at the homestead in west central GA. I don’t feel bad about my forecast, I didn’t end up with what the pro’s thought either. There is a light coating on frozen mix on elevated surfaces but none on the road or grass.

Here are some totals from around the state of Georgia, the most at the time [ 401 AM EST THU FEB 10 2011
] 1.5 inches. PRELIMINARY LOCAL STORM REPORT…NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE PEACHTREE CITY GA

On to the next snow …er.. show.

################

3:24 AM 2/10/2011 – A moderate snow has started falling .. I will likely end with less than I forecast [ 1-3 inches see map at bottom ], but more than local and state meteorologist forecast [ .25-.50 inch ]. My thinking at this time .. I may get 1 inch. Excellent for down here in the deep south. Cant wait to see what March may bring.

+ marks the spot

################

12:48 AM 2/10/2011 – Back to a light rain – shouldn’t be long before it goes to snow .. light snow, but nonetheless, snow.

Temperature 33.0 °F
Relative Humidity 97.7 %
Dew Point Temperature 32.4 °F
Wet Bulb Temperature 32.8 °F

################

11:29 PM 2/9/2011 – Rain Sleet Snow mix .. come on all snow.

################

11:12 PM 2/9/2011 – Come on snow – still heavy sleet

Temperature 38.8 °F
Relative Humidity 75.1 %
Dew Point Temperature 31.6 °F
Wet Bulb Temperature 35.9 °F

################

9:55 PM ET 2/9/2011 –

Heads up – Light rain sleet mix here in southern Harris Co Ga. Started about 9:55 PM ET, woke me from my nap which I was taking to prepare for tonight. Went outside and verified visually. No snow that I could see .. yet.

Temperature 42.5 °F at Callaway Gardens the site I use for temp obs. It’s up the road [North] from the house and closer to my temp than what comes out of Columbus, Down the road [South].

Should be an interesting night. I’ll keep y’all to the east updated. For a reference point, I’m located north of Columbus GA.

Check back for more obs later…

Here is my call map [snow accumulation forecast map] posted here – Update #2 – Georgia Snow Totals February 9-10 2011 – call map from earlier. we’ll see how close I come to the amounts plotted.

Leave a Reply

